And just like that
You are gone,
Gone with the wind
Silently passing by
With a deep sigh
With a sensation
Of an unblemished Petrichor.

And just like that
You are the wish
That dawns upon me
In my sleep
Sweeping right beside
My ears,
Giving a tickling sensation
That gives birth
To an unfounded warmth.

And just like that
You are the eager feeling
That makes my heart
Flutter,
Making me conscious
And confused.
An unknown presence
Wanted to be felt.
A stranger wanting to pass by Unnoticed
And yet to leave an
Everlasting Impression.

And just like that
You ran away
Leaving me scandalized
Forsaken, on my own.
But this pain,
Gives me a melancholic pleasure
To feel you again
The mere presence
Which comes back every time
I close my eyes.

And just like that
You are the smoke
That makes the vision hazy
Chokes you,
As it burns down the throat
And yet gives you pleasure
Creates oblivion,
But stays as an ache
Deep down in that cold heart
Which surfaces every time
The smoke clears away.

And just like that
You are the lonely hut
Beyond those fields
With that lonely scarecrow
Staring at the blank space
A longing,
For someone to come back
Through those old
Broken, creaky doors.
The hope of hearing
Those retreating footsteps
And the sound of cheers again.

And just like that
You are that distant sky
Full of stars
Full of hope
And yet so far.
That shimmering black blanket
That makes you feel protected
A strange oath
Echoing from the heavens above.
That makes you believe
But still leaves you with
A pang of fear and pain.

 

Pamela Saha

